Yesterday I began writing the manuscript for a sermon on 2 Samuel 5:6-16. In this sermon, I touch on the new Jerusalem, the new Zion, that awaits God’s people. I wrote and wrote and wrote, until the words I was writing began to get larger and more sloppy. After several hours, my throbbing hand couldn’t stand to keep going.

My joy in contemplating the glories of God had outlasted my body’s ability to express it. This compelled me to greatly long for a glorified body, with which I could praise God more fully, apart from the ruin sin has made my present flesh.

So thank You, Lord, for the future glory awaiting your church: sketched by the Father, secured by the Son, sealed by the Spirit. I am very glad that your promises for salvation are much more reliable than the Bi-Daily’s are for bi-daily content.

