The Christian three-in-one God is often misunderstood and/or misrepresented. I would like to clarify a few things that I, as a Christian, believe about the Triune nature of my God.

  1. God is one being. He is singular in essence. I worship one God. Trinitarianism is monotheistic.
  2. God is three persons. He is triune in person-hood. I worship the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Trinitarianism is still monotheistic, because of the category distinction between “being” and “person-hood.”
  3. All three members of the Trinity are unequivocal. The Father is not the Son nor the Spirit, the Son is not the Father nor the Spirit, the Spirit is not the Father nor the Son.
  4. Any single member of the Trinity may be referred to as “God,” possessing the fullness of deity. To the Father, I can say, “My God.” To the Son, I can say, “My God.” To the Spirit, I can say, “My God.”
  5. The Trinity is logical. Though it may appear meritorious and spiritual, claiming that the Trinity is “too lofty to be reasonable” or “simply an illogical mystery we must accept” is false. Logic is a reflection of God’s very character, and if He is ontologically illogical then Christianity has a major problem.
  6. Each member of the Trinity serves separate roles in the accomplishment of redemption. For example: the Father ordains redemption, the Son secures redemption, the Spirit applies redemption.
  7. There is no conflict between the Spirit’s, the Son’s, and the Father’s will. All three members of the Trinity operate in perfect, eternal harmony.
